Roosevelt Smart Named To NABC Second Team All-District

March 13, 2018

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – North Texas men’s basketball sophomore guard Roosevelt Smart was named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) 2017-18 District 11 second team, the organization announced Tuesday. 

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes and coaches represent the finest basketball players and coaches across America.

Smart earns his first all-district honor joining former North Texas student-athletes Jeremy Combs (2015-16) and Tony Mitchell (2012-13).

Smart leads the team in scoring at 18.9 points per game and is just the eighth player in North Texas history to score 600 or more points in a single-season. Smart also shattered the school record for three-pointers made with 111, besting the previous mark of 90 by Mean Green Hall of Famer Calvin Watson from 2006-07. Smart also shot 87.3 percent from the field throw line, which is second-best in school history behind Josh White’s 90.6 from 2008-09.

Smart has scored in double-figures in 26 games this season, including a career-high 42 points at Rice and hit a school-record 10 three-pointers back on Jan. 13. Smart has 16 20-plus scoring games and three 30 points or more performances at San Diego (Dec. 16), at Rice and at Middle Tennessee (Feb. 10).

Smart and North Texas will open postseason play on the road on Wednesday, March 14, at South Dakota in the College Basketball Invitational (CBI) first round at 7 p.m.

District 11
First Team
Jon Elmore, Marshall
Justin Johnson, Western Kentucky
Nick King, Middle Tennessee
Chris Cokley, UAB
Ahmad Caver, Old Dominion

Second Team
Giddy Potts, Middle Tennessee
CJ Burks, Marshall
Roosevelt Smart, North Texas
B.J. Stith, Old Dominion
Darius Thompson, Western Kentucky



Shop Now at
the Official Store
Official Auctions